I am a Turtle

So now I have new friends. Yay! I went out today with a few of my coworkers. I have the same Masters degree they do, but not their job title. Am I jealous of my new found friends? Yes, in more ways than one.

I mean after all, they have the job I sort of want. Not necessarily have their exact job, but be a professional. This is like my last job all over again where I am completely overqualified for the job I have, everyone around me knows it, but lord if the employers can see it.

Okay, so I haven’t even applied anywhere else yet. But again, same problems. I love my daughter, but she keeps me back from being able to do so many things. Being able to work nights and weekends is just one of them. Ironically if it wasn’t for her I wouldn’t have gotten the focus I did that led me to my Masters degree. I was just a fumbling fool before her, unknowing of what I wanted to do with myself.

So now, these coworkers have thew job I want, the apartments I’d die for, and can move all over the country for their dream jobs at ease. Ok, so that last part is a bit unfair. They have boyfriends and husbands that impede this constant moving I’m suggesting. But all the other stuff stands true.

When I had my kid I realized that I was overqualified for the photography jobs available here. I’m not the kind of person that can freelance. I like the security of steady paycheck. So that took freelance photographer out of the equation. At the same time I didn’t want to ignore my English degree. It had to be useful for something right?

I suppose I could’ve become a welfare mom with a bachelor’s degree. Honestly, I was very tempted to put a bumper sticker on my 11 year old piece of crap car that said “University of Miami Alumni”. Ha! That would’ve given a few UM students quite the scare and rightfully so. But that’s another chapter.

Leave a Reply

