You don’t scare me, Lucard.

I spent yesterday at home. I decided to watch this DVD I bought months ago of the entire run of Dracula: The Series.

Now, if you’ve never heard of it, you’re not alone. It came out about 1990ish and the only person recognizable in it is Mia Kirshner. It’s about 3 kids and their vampire hunting old relatiive (Helsing). Their arch-nemesis? Dracula himself in the form of a multi-millionaire businessman, Alexander Lucard (get it?).

I can’t believe I didn’t remember how campy this show was. I was on the floor laughing through most of it yesterday. Every episode these people manage to break into Dracula’s castle and not get hurt. And Dracula himself? Oh, man… imagine every cheesy vampire movie you’ve ever seen. I’m not even talking about the cheesy effects; I’m willing to cut some slack on that. Lord, fucking hilarious.

Also, for you vampire lovers out there, you might recognize one guy in certain episodes… Geraint Wyn Davies, also known as Det. Nic Knight of the vampire TV series Forever Knight. He stars as Dracula’s right hand man with crazy bloodlust. Lol, what a hoot.

If you like campy vampire stuff, there’s really nothing like this.

Leave a Reply

