I miss my hug buddy

I was hanging out with a few new people this weekend and everyone was a couple. At some point I realize the one thing I do miss about being part of a couple, and that is the endless supply of hugs. But I like being single, so how do I compromise that? The next day I remembered a certain friend from back in high school. He was my hug buddy.

Back when I was an angst ridden teen I often went around asking my friends for hugs. But this one gay guy in particular would not only always give me a deep hug when I needed it, but he would also pick me up and twirl me around which I absolutely loved. He knew that of course which is why he did it and that was enough to get me through the rest of the day.

So I have to say that the one good thing about high school was being exposed constantly to all my oldest and dearest friends whom I could just randomly hug throughout the day when I needed a pick-me-up.

Also, I went to the book fair this weekend and ran into Schippi, my English teacher and newspaper adviser. She recognized me, remembered my name, and gave me a big hug. I was so proud to tell her I was a librarian, that I had actually made myself into something worthwhile and she had no cause to be disappointed in me. I was a former student she could be proud of.

I feel pretty good about myself today.

Leave a Reply

