National Novel Writing Month

As most of you don’t know, I was participating in the National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. It’s the same people that do ScriptFrenzy except that NaNo came first. The goal is to write 50,000 words towards a novel in just one month, the month of November.

This morning I made it just clocking in a little over 50,000. That technically makes me a winner even though I didn’t actually finish the book. It’s really only about half-way written, maybe 2/3rds. But hey, I still get the winner icon and certificate.

So the only nagging thought in my brain now is that I haven’t actually finished. I’m worried that the end of November and the beginning of Christmas season is going to demotivate me if I put it off, take a break, wait until after the holidays, I’ll just stop all together.

I know I’m not writing the Great American Novel even if I think that with another month of editing once I finish I’ll have a pretty decent read. It’s mainstream fiction, the kind you read on a plane on a long flight. It wasn’t meant to be a deep meaningful mind-fuck. It’s just fodder, and I meant it to be that way.

I just want to finish. I majored in Creative Writing and all I do is write smut for the internet. Which is fun, yes. But wow, I’m half-way through a novel. Like for real. I need to finish, or I’ll never forgive myself.

One response to “National Novel Writing Month

  • rock_starr

    ive wrote a couple long stories. one though is super long, i like 500 pages typed. i still have it somewhere but it was written when i was in 10-11th grade i believe. it was about slutty girls and rockstars. lol.

Leave a Reply

