My Top Movies from the 1990’s

A few days ago my friend Beth made a Top Ten Movies from the 90’s blog. I decided to take a few days, think about it, and make my own. The list has nothing to do with the best movies of the 90’s as how the Academy Awards might see it. Instead the list is my own fave movies that have somehow influenced my life. Oh, and this is in order.

I’m only doing a top 5 because I was rambling on and on about these movies. Just so you know the movies that were pushed out: 10 Clueless, 9 Half Baked, 8 Wayne’s World, 7 Nightmare Before Christmas, 6 Dogma.


5. My Cousin Vinny 1992

Sure it’s a great movie, but that’s not why it’s on my list. The thing is, after I saw that the movie is from 1992 I realized that that’s about the same time people started calling me Vinnie.. Even if I’m called Vinnie for some other reason, when I meet new people I usually have to say “you know, like my cousin Vinny?”

4. Trainspotting 1996

This is one of my fave movies of all time. The only reason it’s not on the very top of this list is because it just didn’t have the same effect on my life that the other movies did. I suppose then that this is my fave movie of the 90’s. I LOVE the soundtrack. I read the book, I read the sequel. It was such a balanced look at drug culture. It was funny, sad and horrifying. It has so many words of wisdom in it I can’t even begin to list them.

3. Reality Bites 1994

It was a hard debate which movie would be 3 and 2. This fell into 3 because of the soundtrack. It’s not my fave. The movie itself is a ballad to my life in high school. Years spent in lunch time performing the “My Sharona” scene with Yesenia. My high school crush telling me that I was Laney and he was Troy. And many times in my life I have felt like Laney. I was really going to be something by the age of 23, I had trouble finding a job (still do), and my dad even got me a gas card. But, no, no psychic partner.

2. Singles 1992

Let’s talk about one of the best soundtracks of all time. Alice in Chains, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Mother Love Bone, Screaming Trees. And some of them are in the movie! Also cameos by Tim Burton and Eric Stoltz. This movie taught me a lot about love. Like not to give away my garage door opener, not to date Mr. Sensitive ponytail man, if a guy says he dates other girls he means it, and dating services are stupid. On a side note, and I can’t believe I fell for it, but one time when this guy I was dating came to my apartment, knocked on my door and said “I was just no where near your neighborhood.” And that’s all it took, Vin was in love.

1. Pump Up The Volume 1990

Who even remembers this movie? Why is it my #1? Because it changed/saved my life. Let’s start with the soundtrack: Soundgarden, The Pixies, Sonic Youth, Concrete Blonde. This movie came out right on the edge of grunge breaking. I was 12 and it mapped my musical taste from then on. I was in Jersey when I saw it. I went because Christian Slater was really cute. The words changed my life. I recorded the movie when it came out. I made audio tapes of the movie so I could listen to it everywhere. I wrote out the screenplay. I decorated my folders at school with the words. For years when I was at my most depressed I was never suicidal again. And yes, I was suicidal at 12. This movie taught me that yeah, life was going to suck ass for awhile, but it would get better. It taught me that instead of contemplating suicide I should just go crazy. “They think you got attitude? You show ’em some real attitude. Go nuts, go crazy. Hey! No more Mr. Nice Guy! AAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!”

Leave a Reply

