My Top Movies from the 1980’s

This time I put up all ten because I’m a child of the 80’s and I have too much to say about them. These are the movies I came of age with.


10 Space Camp (1986)

When I was a little girl I was very much interested in science. Namely, I wanted to be an astronaut. Later I would realize my brain was already in outer space. This was my fave movie about space when I was a kid. I always wanted to go to space camp, but alas, I was too poor. You’re all like “what the hell is this movie?” Lea Thompson was in it. Whatever, I still love it.

9 Star Trek IV (1986)

The whale movie. I know I watched this because it was a movie about outer space. I wasn’t a die hard trekkie in my youth, but I did watch this movie over and over again. I list it because I had to stick a Vulcan in somewhere. I spent years practicing trying to be able to raise one eyebrow up while the other was down. I spent years trying to control my emotions. And if anyone taught me anything about friendship and loyalty it was the crew of the starship Enterprise.

8 Beetlejuice (1988)

My mom’s old roommate picked me up after school one day and took me to see this movie. By the date I can tell you I was ten. I remember I thought it was really scary. I also remember identyfing with Winona Ryder. And thus began my celluloid affair with Tim Burton, Danny Elfman, and Winona Ryder.

7 The Breakfast Club (1985)

Only number 7? Yeap. Sorry. While I love this movie the other six were way more influential. I was lucky enough not to have the sociodynamics in my high school that there were in this movie. I mean sure there were jocks, and princesses, and basketcases (me), nerds, and bad boys. But there were too many people in our school to really care. This movie taught me there wasn’t really all that much differences between us.

6 Dangerous Liaisons (1988)

I was ten yrs old. Maybe I saw it at 11 yrs old. The point is that most of my ideas about love came from this movie. How fucked up is that? I never wanted to be that naïve virgin, Cecile. I wanted to be like Glenn Close: cold, vicious, and in complete control. Every other woman in that movie seemed to be getting the short end of the stick. Sure, she ended up being loathed, but I thought I could learn from her mistakes.

5 Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you might miss it.” When I first saw this movie I sympathized with Bueller’s sister all the way. I wasn’t on Ferris’ side until the street parade scene. How much do I love this movie that I remember that? Enough to sing “Dunkeshein” all the freaking time.

4 Clue (1985)

There is no possible way anyone could have figured out who done it and where and with what in this movie! I’m not shouting! I spend two months watching this movie after school and eating waffles. I love it, love it, love it. We should get a big group together and dress up like the characters.

3 Parenthood (1989)

What’s amazing to me is that almost 20 years later I can still learn from this movie. It’s an all star cast now and then: Steve Martin, Diane Wiest, Mary Steenburgen, Jason Robards, Rick Moranis, Keanu Reeves, and Joaquin (then Leaf) Phoenix. It’s multi-generational. At 11 I could empathize with Joaquin’s character because his dad didn’t want to be with him. As a teenager I learned boy are stupid, don’t get pregnant when you’re a teenager. As a parent I can of course take a lot from this movie. And maybe one day, as a grandparent I can look back on it as well. I still look at life like a Merry-Go-Round or like a Roller Coaster.

2 Spaceballs (1987)

Well this is just one of my four fave movies of all time. I can quote it backwards and forwards. It’s Mel Brooks at his best. I don’t even know what to say. I could watch this movie all day long. I’m still waiting for the sequel, Spaceballs 2: The Search for More Money.

1 The Lost Boys (1987)

I’m pretty sure that if pressed I’d probably say this is my fave movie of all time. It pretty much defines who I am today. I have been waiting for years for the military fashion to come into style. I would do just about anything for Kiefer Sutherland and I refuse to watch Jason Patric movies. And if that wasn’t enough, you have the first ever meeting of the Corey’s. That’s right, Haim and Feldman together for the first time. Could this movie get any better? Oh, wait, the soundtrack kicks major ass too. Before I die I want to ride a motorcycle on the beach while listening to “Lost in the Shadows”. That would be just perfect.

Leave a Reply

