Top 10 Most Romantic Movie Moments

Yesterday I saw the movie Definitely, Maybe. Since today is Valentine’s Day I decided to list my top 10 romantic movie moments. That’s not to say my top 10 Romantic Movies, just the moments that made me swoon like a love-sick teenager. I almost didn’t have enough moments to make it to 10 because while I can get very emotional in the movie theatre, I’m only listing the moments that have stood the test of time with me.

Oh, and if you question some of my choices just remember that these choices were made on a personal level. You do not complete me. Baby can stay in the corner. Julia Roberts was playing a hooker people! And I’ve never seen a lot of the older romantic movie stuff like Casablanca. Also not making the list are Reality Bites and Singles. Why? Because I lived those romantic moments and now I’m divorced. Thanks a lot Hollywood.


10. Before Sunset

Most people I think opt with Before Sunrise. I loved that movie too, but now we have the sequel which is a great movie. Jesse (Ethan Hawke) and Celine (Julie Delpy) have been walking around talking all day and flirting around each other. In the cab ride home Celine breaks down and they both hash out in honesty how they feel about their current lives and each other. It’s such an offset to the rest of the movie that I burst into tears along with her.

9. The Wedding Singer

Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore make a good romantic team don’t they? At the end on the plane Robbie comes out and sings Julia the song he wrote about her while playing Billy Idol’s guitar. ::sigh::

8. Eternal Sunshine for the Spotless Mind

Those last few moments where Joel (Jim Carrey) has accepted that he can’t stop, however desperately he’s trying to, the fact that his memories of Clementine (Kate Winslet) are being erased. So sad, so beautiful.

7. Benny & Joon

The story of two certifiably insane people finding love together. ::Awe:: What gets me is the scene when Joon (Mary Stuart Masterson) is in the hospital and Sam (Johnny Depp) creates a distraction so her brother, Benny (Aidan Quinn), can sneak in to see her. And then as Benny and Joon are arguing who should be hanging, swinging in front of her window? Johnny Depp. I mean, Sam.

6. Four Weddings and a Funeral

How to pick a romantic moment from this movie? Of course I loved the scene where Andie McDowell and Hugh Grant got together in the end. But 14 years later what still brings tears to my eyes is the poem read by Matthew (John Hannah) in the funeral for his lover. (“Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone” by W.H. Auden)

5. High Fidelity

It’s a silly scene I love really. There are so many romantic parts to this movie. What I love though is the end. Rob (John Cusack) is sitting in his apartment trying to make a mix tape for his girlfriend. “Anyway… I’ve started to make a tape… in my head… for Laura. Full of stuff she likes. Full of stuff that’ll make her happy. For the first time I can sort of see how that is done.” And then they play the song “I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)”. Killed me. I’ve had that song stuck in my head since I started thinking up this blog.

4. The Princess Bride

I’m sorry, there is no greatest romantic movie moments without The Princess Bride. It’s not my fave scene in the movie because that honor goes to Inigo Montoya (probably my fave scene in a movie ever). My fave romantic moment has to be after Buttercup (Robin Wright) pushes Wesley (Cary Elwes) down the hill. She realizes he’s her long lost long, topples down the hill herself and then they kiss. ::swoon::

3. Say Anything

John Cusack is the king of romance. Screw Tom Hanks. What girl did not want to date Lloyd Dobbler? Everyone’s fave is of course Lloyd with the stereo playing “In Your Eyes”. It’s a classic. But after I got over that, I never got over Lloyd needing Diane (Ione Sky) to tell him she loved him one more time.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas

At the very end when everyone is celebrating and Sally goes off into the graveyard, Jack follows her.

Jack Skellington: My dearest friend, if you don’t mind… I’d like to join you by your side. Where we can gaze into the stars…
Jack/Sally together: And sit together, now and forever. For it is plain, as anyone can see. We’re simply meant to be.

1. Big Fish

It’s one of my fave movies of all time. It’s really the story of a father and son interlaced with stories about love here and there. While there are many moments to choose from my fave has to be when Ed Bloom (Albert Finney) is in a bathtub full of water still wearing his pajamas. In comes his wife Sandra (Jessica Lange) in a dress. She takes off her shoes and slips into the bathtub with him. What gets me is that she doesn’t ask what he’s doing there. She acts like it’s the most normal thing in the world. And you know from the flashbacks that it’s not because she’s as offbeat as he is. She does it because she understands him, she loves him, and if getting closer to him means slipping into a bathtub full of water fully dressed, well that’s perfectly fine.

All this love stuff is unbecoming of me. But fuck it. It’s just one day a year. Even I’m allowed to be a romantic.

Leave a Reply

