friends don’t let friends get armbands

I couldn’t wait any longer… I got a new tattoo. It’s on my ass. It hurts to sit down.

When I got the bat tattoo on my back when I was 23 I thought “this is the last one” leaving me with a total of two tattoos. And now, 6 days after my 30th birthday I ran to the same tattoo place I got the bat tattoo.

I’m not sure if it’s an early mid-life crisis, but this tattoo was a must. It’s the symbol for the planet Uranus (Aquarius’ ruling planet) and I got it right on my butt. I mean that’s a joke I can tell for the rest of my life. I couldn’t not get it. That would be like knowing a real good joke and never telling anyone.

It hurt a bit, yeah. But it is a freaking needle digging into your skin. There’s bound to be some pain. No tears or anything, I’m a big girl. The whole thing was over in like 10 minutes. My friend Barbie came with me. Thanks, girl.


I have plans for more tattoos. I want two stars representing my mom and grandma. When I move (whenever that happens) I’ll get something representing My kid. I’m leaning strongly towards making that one an octopus she picked out once when we were at a tattoo shop.

A part of me is irked at doing something so permanent to my skin. A part of me looks at Kat Von D’s body with envy. Perhaps a happy medium? Ultimately, I like being tattooed. It makes me feel cool, part of a certain subculture, and relieved that I can actually make that kind of commitment about something. If I wasn’t tattooed I’d just want to get tattoos. Hence the Uranus on my butt. I just couldn’t not do it.

Hey everyone, I got a tattoo of Uranus… on my butt. Even the tattoo artist smiled.

Leave a Reply

