Top 5 Disgruntled Worker Movies

Today I’m making a list of my top five movie moments about disgruntled employees. Remember, these are my own personal faves and has nothing to do with the general public at large. I must admit I didn’t put too much thought into it though and maybe it’s best that way cause then it’s really representative of my own personal faves.

5. Fight Club 1999

I think I’d take an ass kicking too if it got me the benefits it did Norton. When he was bruised an bloodied at his boss’ feet and the people walked into the office, you knew his boss was fucked.

4. Cradle Will Rock 1999

Overall this is a great star-studded movie everyone should see. But when Orson Welles (Angus MacFayden) the director of the play gets into an argument with the producer, John Houseman (Cary Elwes) the results are memorable:

Houseman: That’s it, I quit!
Welles: You can’t quit. You’re the producer!
Houseman: As the producer, I can fire anybody I want, and I am fucking fired!

3. Clerks 1994

Admit it. Your job would be great if it wasn’t for the fucking customers.

2. Office Space 1999

Apparently all good disgruntled worker movies came out in 1999. For those people who work with me, I still got the old pencil sharpener somewhere if anyone has a bat.

1. Half Baked 1998
I wish, lord do I wish, I could quit all my jobs this way.

For more movies with disgruntled employees, people online recommend Jerry Maguire, Bridget Jones Diary, Car Wash, and Metropolis.

Leave a Reply

