Be vewwy, vewwy quiet…I’m hunting employers

I’m now in month 2 of my job search. To be perfectly honest, I haven’t applied to a great many jobs. I’m being terribly selective because this will be such a monumental thing in my life that I think I should ber very selective.

The first call back I got was terrifying. It was like, “oh my god. this is actually happening.” I didn’t get the job, but it was still a breakthrough. Like Morrissey sang, “it’s gonna happen someday…”

I’m really bad at job hunting. I get nervous writing (thinking of writing) cover letters and my resume skills suck. Thank god I’ve gotten some help in that department. But I’m not very good at any of it. I even have to take anxiety meds before job interviews. I’m a wreck. A wreck with nice white pills.

What I’m hoping for is the following… Employers in professional fields can take forever to hire anyone. They take forever to call for interviews, then they take forever deciding on who to hire and what to offer. By the time this happens, many job seekers have already found jobs. That’s where I come in. I don’t mind being 3rd or 4th choice so long as I get the job and the first ticket out of here.

I’m not being self-depricating. I’m a good employee, but I understand that at interviews I just don’t present very well. You have to see me in action to want to jump on me before I get away. (I know, I know).

Leave a Reply

