Apocalyptica

I just got back from… Apocalyptica! Fucking Awesome. That’s the best show I’ve seen in many many years. Those guys can rock like nobody’s fucking business. They sound more metal on three cellos than some other bands with V guitars. And I have to add that it is monumental to hear a Kirk Hammett guitar solo played on a cello.

I went with my friend, the #1 Metallica fan I know, and his girlfriend who’d never heard of Apocalyptica but figured how bad could it be. Her words after the show “dude, that was fucking awesome.”

They played some of their songs. They had the lead singer of Fuel with them to do a few songs, and of course they played some of the Metallica covers. Enter Sandman, Seek & Destroy, For Whom the Bell Tolls, One, and Battery. Now, they don’t sing but the audience does. The crowd was so enthusiastic and just digging them. And it was hard not to dig them because those boys do not sit there playing cello. They walk around with them and bang their heads and their hair is flipping like old school metal. They make it work. They rock out (helps they have a drummer). They just bounce all over the stage and you can’t help but jump all over the floor cause they just give you this great vibe an energy. They laugh and play with each other. They seem like such a great bunch of guys.

I recommend everyone go see them if they have the chance. I’m going to buy one of their albums. Tonight I shall dream of Finnish men with giant cellos they were practically humping onstage. yummy. Oh my god I just can’t get over what a great show that was.

3 responses to “Apocalyptica

  • ddmoca

    wow, i can’t believe you been to one of there concerts i heard that they give one awesome shows but its kinda weird for me to go to as show with no singer, they are very good and so original among all the tribute bands for Metallica , i listed to there first album when it came out and loved it and wished they do their own thing and then came this awesome new album (worlds collide ) i love it great music and lyrical concepts if you get it you wont regret , i love (SOS),and they have a song with Corey Taylor ,i love him (i am not Jesus) and i know you would gravitate to (bittersweet )i wonder why hmmmm….,my favorite is(life burns) with THE Rasmus (they are my HIM ,so we both have a Finnish love, see )
    HEY by the way whats with you and Finland anyway …..

    • vinrodriguez

      I went to see Clutch and the lead singer had lost his voice and so they played without vocals. It was interesting, but…eh. Apocalyptica wasn’t like that. The audience sang a lot (lots of Metallica fans there last night) and they had the lead singer of Fuel sang like 3 songs. It was really just amazing. I’ll get the Worlds Collide then, thanks for recommending.
      Finland. My friend was going to move to Finland. She would go to take exams at University of Helsinki and she was working on getting citizenship there too. So I learned some Finnish and she got me into the bands. But then she fell in love with some guy here and now she’s not moving. But I still love Finland. I think I just like being weird.

Leave a Reply

