Alumni of Electoral College

About the election… I was inclined for Obama (mostly cause of Sarah Palin), but honestly I was a Hillary supporter. The democrats won Florida but Florida still passed amendment 2 which outlawed rights of domestic partnerships. So this state going Democrat was kind of anticlimactic for me. In defense I will say the law was poorly written so maybe some people were confused, but I’m more inclined to believe the State is filled with bigoted assholes.

I’m also glad that Obama won the popular vote and I think that’s important. I can’t remember why the whole electoral college is there, but I think there’s something seriously wrong with the system. I think that it’s the electoral college’s fault people believe their votes don’t count.


For example, let’s say I voted for Gore in 2000 (which I did), but my State went Republican (which it did). So then every single electoral vote that is bestowed upon Florida went to the Republicans. Why? Did 100% of Florida vote (or was rigged to vote) Republican? No. But now the millions of Floridians who voted for Gore just got cast aside. My vote doesn’t count anymore.

I know there have been propositions to change the electoral college system. One way is to just change it to popular vote instead (Obama still wins, Bush would have lost). Or perhaps we can say that not all the electoral college of one state should go to the winner in that state. Perhaps it should be split on the percentage except that this would screw the small states. (What’s an electoral voter to do?)

Either way I think the current system is unfair.

Okay so now we elected a black man president anyone want to take bets on how long it will take to get a woman president? a black woman? A Latino? A third party?

Leave a Reply

