Colorado Day 1 – Trains, Planes and Automobiles

I decided to chronicle my adventure…

My mother was nice enough to drive me to the airport. It was $200 cheaper if I left from the next county over so that was nice of her. Of course I started off my trip by forgetting my winter coat in the back of my mother’s car. This left me with a thin long sleeve shirt heading into a city that was 27 degrees F.

My connecting flight was in Dallas. I’d never been in Texas before and the airport was quite nice. There was a little monorail train that took you to the different terminals. I bought some snacks there because it turns out American Airlines only gives out free drinks, they charge you for snacks. I was starving having skipped breakfast to make a 3 hour flight.

But thankfully all my planes were relatively on time and I landed in Colorado only 10 minutes later than I was suppose to. At this airport I was forced to buy a $50 Colorado hoodie (lined with fleece) or face the danger of freezing my butt off. I ate some bad Burger King at the airport. Then braved the weather outside. My first reaction when I stepped out into the cold weather was “Holy Shit!” followed by a laugh and then “This is awesome. I can totally do this.” so much for everyone’s horror stories about cold weather.

Ok, mind you I realize that I wasn’t in terrible weather and that it can get worse than I was experiencing. But the truth is it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I think the issue is clothing in Florida. It’s hot in Florida and so you don’t really see winter clothing and anyone in winter clothing is immediately ridiculed so you have to force yourself to wear simple hoodies even though you’re freezing. I think the lack of wind helped also. The hoodie I bought plus the oversized scarf my friend knit me has really kept me warm. Not the coolest hoodie in the world, but hey it gets the job done.

I’m still not sure about the whole idea of nowhere being as humid as Florida. I don’t think I feel humidity. Maybe I’ll notice the difference when I go back.

In the meantime, my hotel kicks ass. It was a little pricey, but I really like it. I could live here it’s so nice. So as I was in my room and decided to go out back to the lobby I opened my door and… it was snowing. I think my eyes must have lit up like it was Christmas and I still believed in Santa Claus. My daughter put on her coat and we went outside for awhile just letting it hit us. I think that moment just made my entire trip worthwhile.

It surely makes up for the fact that I still haven’t found good food in Colorado. The Pizza Hut tastes different. Blah. I haven’t had a decent meal all day.

So I’ve already read most of “America: The Book” from Jon Stewart (I was on a plane for like 5 hours). I don’t think I’ll have enough material to read on the trip back because I can’t put the book down. I’ll ask my best friend to lend me a book and then mail it back to him.

I am so not looking forward to going home. The only thing I really miss right now, funny enough, are my Ghost Hunters DVDs.

EDIT: I take it back about this hotel. I can’t figure out how to make the hot water work. Instead I improvised by microwaving some of my wetnaps.

3 responses to “Colorado Day 1 – Trains, Planes and Automobiles

Leave a Reply

