About a Girl: No Fear

I was practicing my skateboarding yesterday now that I’ve fixed the trucks on my board. I don’t think I’ve tightened them enough, but perhaps I’m really the problem. My biggest problem in skateboarding though is fear. I’m not even trying to do tricks, I’m just trying to get from point A to point B and still, there’s this fear everytime I push off. I think if I wasn’t such a chicken my balance would be better. I’m going to have to keep practicing and suck it up. I’m determined to do this now especially since I think it would be a bad metaphor for my life if I was too chicken to learn how to skateboard.

Yesterday my daughter asked me why she doesn’t see her dad on Saturdays anymore. And I know that I said to everyone that if she asked me I’d tell her the truth, but I was tongue-tied when she asked me. I really didn’t want to tell her. I didn’t want to hurt her feelings, and I was kind of scared it was the wrong thing to do. So I told her to ask her dad and then tell me what he said. And she pressed on a bit and I warned her that the truth would hurt her feelings, and she pressed on. Screw it. I braced myself and told her. You know what the saddest thing of all is? She knew. Some girl at school who’s mom is friends with the evil stepmother in question had already told my daughter what was up. My daughter said she hadn’t told me because she didn’t want me to be mad. She cried a little, but I explained that her stepmother was just selfish like Cinderella’s stepmother. Overall, she wasn’t as hurt as I thought she was going to be.

Oh, and my birthday was on Saturday. I had a nice birthday weekend. I got a lot of well wishes and some really nice gifts. (note to rock starr: thanks for the birthday wishes. I hope your Valentine’s wasn’t as god awful as I’m afraid it might have beeng.) I went to the Improv for my birthday and Tony Rock (Chris Rock’s younger brother) was the comedian. He cracked me up. And you can tell that he really loves what he does cause he was on stage longer than any comedian I’ve ever seen. He’s like the Metallica of comedians cause he was on for over 2 hours… and he was still funny. As I stood in line though I wondered what it would have been like to see Jon Stewart’s stand-up back in the day. I’m afraid I still have on crush on the guy. Sigh. I want to go watch a taping of the Daily Show and just bask in his awesomeness.

Well, I’m going to get some actual work done today. The economy is shit and my University relies a lot on it’s investments. In other words, they have to start laying people off. Even though it’ll probably be awhile before I come under the microscope, I can’t help but be nervous. I’m going to go be productive before I get canned.

8 responses to “About a Girl: No Fear

Leave a Reply

