NaNoWriMo and Star Trek Convention

Yes, it’s been awhile. And it’ll probably be long while after this because next month is November which is National Novel Writing Month. I have a story all planned out (sort of) and I’m really looking forward to writing it. You know what was really great was telling people, “next month I’m going to start working on my second novel”. Wow. My second novel. I haven’t finished editing the first, but I’m starting my SECOND novel. Thank you NaNoWriMo.

Uh… where to begin. I’ve taken a bigger interest in my non- fan fiction writing obviously. I convinced some girl at work to join NaNoWriMo, and though I’m not sure she’ll finish I’m sure it’ll be a learning experience for her. At least I’ll have someone to go to the kick-off party with me. Hey, RockStarr, you interested? I know you write. You can be my writing buddy.

I edited the heck out of my horror screenplay and sent it out to some competitions. I don’t really expect to win anything, though it would be nice, but it seemed kind of silly to have written something and just have it sit there on my hardrive. Next year after I hear back from those competition places I’ll send it out to some B horror movie production companies, then I’ll lay it to rest.

I still haven’t found another job and a few (one) month ago I was really just hitting bottom on that. I was so depressed I didn’t even bother to apply to stuff. I would print out my resume and just chuck them into the garbage on my way to the post office cause really, what was the point? But my writing is keeping me distracted. I don’t know what I want anymore as far as the job thing goes. I know what I don’t want… to stay in Miami, to teach, to move to Idaho. ::sigh:: I can’t think about that stuff too long, it just gets me upset.

I just realized I didn’t blog about going to the Star Trek convention. I went in early August up to New Jersey. It was great. I meant to blog about it. A lot of my family lives in Jersey so I stayed with them and got to visit almost all of them. My dad managed to dig up three of my half-siblings to introduce me to. That was a very surreal experience as I consider myself an only child. I never grew up with those siblings, my dad only raised one of us and it wasn’t me, so there we were at dinner, four half-siblings with four different moms. My dad was a slut. They were all very nice to me no doubt, but that’s not my family. I still consider myself an only child. That’s not to reflect badly on them, it’s just weird I guess.

The Star Trek convention was great though. I went the first day dressed up like a Romulan Commander from the first season. Here is a pic of the character:

And here is a pic I found of the convention with me in it. I.. didn’t know I was online, but I figured it might happen. I’m the short girl in the middle with the red and grey dress:

::swells with pride:: the writer of the blog called my costume “amazing”. It was tailor-made.

The second day I went dressed normal because I was doing a photo op with Leonard Nimoy. It was great. It lasted 5 seconds, but Nimoy touched my arm. yay! And even though I wasn’t dressed in costume I still got recognized by some of the attendees. I felt like a rockstar. I got to go back next year. Maybe to the Vegas one.

Also, I’m going to finish that Jason Cinderella story before November. NaNoWriMo has a deal with this self-publishing site that you get a free copy of your novel. It’s not for sale, there’s no ISBN. They just give you one copy so you can get an idea of their product and entice you to buy from them. I’m actually going to send in all my finished fanfics and have them bound together in one volume. So I have to finish that story so I can get it in there. I’m not going to send in my actual novels because my first one needs extensive editing and I imagine my second one will too.

I should really blog more often so I don’t go on and on in one post. And I want to say thanks to ddmoca for taking such good care of Newstedfans. XOXO

15 responses to “NaNoWriMo and Star Trek Convention

  • rock_starr

    i havent wrote anything in a long long time. i have ideas but i guess no motivation lol.

  • Anonymous

    your welcome. its our baby really.(nice dress by the way, weirdly cool to see you after all this time .the real you, i mean)

  • richie666

    omg you met Leonard Nimoy.

    • vinrodriguez

      yeah, I was in line for the photo and when it was my turn he said “Hi, how are you?” and I said “Good, thank you” and then I stood next to him, he put his hand on my arm and snap.
      When I got the pics and showed it to people it took them a few seconds to realize, “Hey, that’s Leonard Nimoy”. They said they’re first instinct was that it was my dad or something because 1. few people I know have ever seen my father and 2. the background made it look like one of those family portraits people get done.
      I also got an autograph (on my copy of the screenplay “Star Trek 6: The Undiscovered Country”.
      I went there just for him. He’s getting old, I didn’t want him to die before I met him.

  • beckyo

    *waves*
    Yes, so much for anonymity, right?
    Anyway, I was at the opposite end of the table from you this afternoon at the NaNo kickoff. 🙂
    I tried looking everyone up at their profiles, and yours intrigued me so here I am. *ahem* Fanfic writer since ’95, lots of it naughty. Used to be Trek and a little X-Files now I’ve digressed into pop music fandom. And I won’t be posting my LJ link at NaNo because I have church folk and my daughter participating as well. Tha’s a line I’m not crossing. *laughs*

    • vinrodriguez

      yes, I remember you. We didn’t get to talk because the table was so long.
      I could’ve tried a bit harder to be anonymous, but then I’d have to think of all sorts of different screennames and stuff. Nah. I figure it’s no biggie since I don’t post really personal stuff here where someone could track me down to my house or something. That would be scary.
      So what kind of Trek? That’s all I’ve been reading now. It’s such a large fandom it’s been keeping me busy for many months. Oh, and I love that icon. If by boyband you mean Jonas Brothers I think I would read that.
      I’ll post more blogs as NaNo kicks off.

  • Goodbye Leonard Nimoy | Vin Rodriguez

    […] When I met Nimoy at a Star Trek convention […]

Leave a Reply

