Social Wallflower

Ok, less than one week for NaNo. I haven’t been this excited about writing in a long time. It’s like itching in my brain, I need to know what happens in my story. That might sound weird. How can I not know what happens in the story I plan to write. I’ve never started a story with such unclear ideas about where I’m going with it. I have ideas. I have characters. I think I’m in love with my gay mathematician and I don’t even know his name yet. Nope. I can’t wait to find out! And I can’t wait to see how my mute and teenage werewolf fall in love. Aw.

I’ve never written fantasy before either. Funny, SciFi/Fantasy is all I read when I’m not reading non-fiction.

Also, I had a great time at the kick-off party. I’m usually such an introverted wallflower it took all my courage for me to go to the write-ins last year. But I feel slightly less anxious this time as I’d already met a few people last year. It reminded me a bit of what I missed about college which was having a group of people to talk to about what I was working on. I mean, that can understand it at my level cause they do it too. In college I had fellow artists and writers to talk to and we could critique each others work. But after college I had no network and the only artists I knew were musicians. Nice, but not the same.

Anyway, I’ll be going to some of the write-ins, if anything to try to be a more social person, but really it’s nice to have some camaraderie.

Leave a Reply

