NaNoWriMo 2009 Winner!

Really, was there ever any doubt?


So I finished and I’m really happy with the results. It went better than I hoped. I don’t want to stop now either. I’m in this mad rush, I want to get started on editing the novel I’ve been ignoring every time it’s not November. People want to read my stuff, for whatever reason, the point is they want to read it and that feels great. I need readers to help me edit before I can even make an attempt at trying to get published for real, so yes! I need to edit so I can get copies out to my fiends who’ve asked to read my stuff. They’ll be able to see the flaws (like gaping plot holes) that I’m not seeing.

Some stories sucked. Like two of them I’ll have to work extra hard to salvage. Some stories rocked when I thought they would be the hardest. And a couple of my characters fell in love. And some people died. And Nicolas Cage saved the world in the nick of time while wearing someone else’s face.

One of the best parts was really going to the write-ins this year. I could just walk in and get a wave from my fellow NaNoers. It was like cool, I made new friends. Well, I made November friends, but alls good in the effort to make me more social to strangers. What’s great is how diverse we all are (mostly), but the solidarity is there. It was also cool telling people, “Oh, I’m going to my writing group that day.” And now we’ll have a wrap-up party together.

I also bought myself some stuff from think geek.com as a reward. They ran out of ram horned helmets, unfortunately, but I did get the #42 Towel. They also have an astronaut food sampler pack which is what I was really looking forward to. I love astronaut food even though the astronauts don’t eat it anymore and it tastes similar to cardboard. I can’t get enough of it.

Well, the hard parts done. I have a first draft. Now the easy part. Editing. Seriously. Editing is way easier.

I decided that if I ever get published I’m going to get a tattoo, probably on my side of a literary quote. I’m not 100% on which one though. My first instinct is “So it Goes” by Kurt Vonnegut, but it turns out that everyone and their mother gets that quote and I’d have to pick something else. So I was also thinking Neil Gaiman “I make things up and I write them down” or something like that. Or perhaps his poem “Trust your dreams. Trust your heart. Trust your story.” But I’m a bit hesitant because Gaiman is not dead which means he might still do something I find horrible enough that I won’t want his words forever etched on my body. Perhaps something from Poe, but what? I’m really not that depressed, and the parts of Poe’s works I love the most always leave me with a horrible ache, which I love yes, but it’s not really me.

My favorite Poe line that I can think of right now from the poem “Alone”:
From childhood’s hour I have not been
As others were; I have not seen
As others saw; I could not bring
My passions from a common spring.
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow; I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone;
And all I loved, I loved alone.

But what I really feel is that I’m a writer, and I work as a librarian because otherwise I’d be a starving writer. I’m going to run with that. Although if anyone asks I’ll say librarian because it sounds less insane and less pretentious.

Leave a Reply

