Slytherin Ambition

You could be great, you know, and Slytherin will help you on the way to greatness, no doubt about that.
—The Sorting Hat to Harry Potter

Years ago when I first became a fan of Harry Potter I took various online quizzes that sorted me into a Hogwarts House.  I thought I’d be a Ravenclaw no question.  I was very surprised then to find myself constantly sorted into Slytherin about 4 out of 5 times.  I started joking that I must be evil then.  But years later I said something in a conversation (about a person and not anything to do with Harry Potter), I said.. “how can he not want more?” It was about life, about ambition, about not settling for what you have and always striving for more, for better, for anything that didn’t mean settling into the same day after day existence. How can you not want more?  As soon as the words came out of my mouth I thought, “oh, I really am a Slytherin.”


Which is how I find myself in my current predicament. I’ve attained the basic part of my life goals. That is, I can support myself (and my daughter) with a decent income and at a job I don’t wake up despising. In fact, some days I really really love my job. Yay!

So now what? That was my last post right? Now I want more. So bad that I’ve made an appointment to call my BFF and ask for advice. Few people know me like D, and I really need input because there’s nothing but circular logic going on in my head. It’s been like that for awhile and I’m getting frustrated. He’s a slytherin too. Or I should say, he took many quizzes and kept coming up Slytherin. He married a Ravenclaw. My daughter is a Gryffindor.

LOL.

JK Rowling, I think, invented a new form of astrological sun signs. When I say I’m an Aquarius with Scorpio Rising in the house of Slytherin it… well, honestly that sounds scary. I’d be scared of me if I were you.

Bottom line though is I want to start planning the next goal in my life. Because there will always be a new goal a new level I want to reach. I don’t think that means I’ll never be satisfied. Right now I’m feeling very satisfied with myself in general. But of course I want more, how could I not?


Which Hogwarts house will you be sorted into?

Leave a Reply

