and the sign says

I’m jotting this down because while I’m not a great believer in fate, I try not to let my agnosticism blind me if Life seems to be trying to tell me something.

I love ordering surprise t-shirts from tee-fury and thinkgeek. So far I haven’t been disappointed. While I’ve gotten shirts I probably would have never bought directly, they were still shirts I liked and was more than happy to receive as a surprise.

Last week I got my new surprise tee fury shirt. It was a political shirt campaigning for Cthulhu and Dagon in the 2012 election. I love the shirt. And I wondered if perhaps Life was telling me it was time to start editing my Lovecraft young adult novel I wrote last NaNoWriMo. I resolved to start working on my novel again while wearing the shirt as a way to psych myself into “writing time”.

So no big deal right? Except for what happened next.


This week I received my surprise shirt from ThinkGeek. The day before the shirt came I had been talking to my mother about the idea of learning either German or Russian. The thing is for most PhD programs they want you to know either French or German, but since I’m mostly interested in space and the space race the obvious language for me to learn is Russian. My mother, to my Cuban Heritage surprise, agreed that I should probably learn Russian and the PhD programs could all go screw themselves. So then the surprise ThinkGeek shirt comes and… it was a shirt celebrating the 50th anniversary of the first human spaceflight. The first human in space was the Russian, Yuri Gagarin.

Coincidence? Perhaps. But I’m not going to see it that way. I’d rather believe Life is trying to tell me something. Right now I would go as far as to say that it would be irresponsible and terribly prideful of me to ignore the signs, the kick in the ass, the path I’m being led on.

Leave a Reply

