La carrera espacial

I think I was just convinced to take on a new project.  A friend of mine at work was putting together a presentation which was basically about our collections on Cuba.  So, knowing my interest in Space she found this picture and stuck it into one of her presentation title slide.  Curious I did a little research to find that the first Hispanic man in space, who is also the first man of African ancestry in space, was a Cuban.  Did I mention I’m half-Cuban? How had I never heard of this.

Arnaldo Tamayo-Mendez was a Cuban pilot who went into space with the Russians.  I suspect there-in lies the issue and why I’ve never heard this.  So my friend and fellow librarian suggested I do an article, maybe a bibliography. Maybe a whole darn book.   I don’t know where I’m going with this yet, but I might just go for it.

I changed the page for Poe to “Librarian” and then added Tamayo-Mendez as a possible project.

Arnaldo Tamayo – Mendez

2 responses to “La carrera espacial

Leave a Reply

