“Won’t somebody please think of the children?”

I use to work in juvenile delinquency court a few years ago as a court reporter.  I’m not going to talk about any cases, however hilarious they were sometimes, but I did mention a while ago that I wanted to talk about some of my co-workers.  At juvy there was also dependency court on the other side of the building.  That’s court for parents who have been bad and had their kids taken away.

Now to work in these courtooms a person has to develop some thick skin. The stories that come in are heartbreaking and sometimes the kids would be in the courtroom crying.  I couldn’t always look. Sometimes I had to bite my tongue to distract myself. Luckily, I only worked in these courtooms once in a blue moon.

This is going to develop into another pro gay rights argument.


One day for some reason some of my co-workers and I got into a discussion about gay couples adopting. I could not comprehend how some of the workers in the dependency courtoom could believed that gay couples shouldn’t be allowed to adopt children.

I think the biggest argument they had was that the children would then get made fun of in schools or by their peers for having gay parents. To which, if I remember correctly because it’s my biggest comeback, I responded by saying perhaps then overweight children should go to special schools to spare them the pain of getting picked on by their classmates. A special school for the smart kids as well to spare them getting picked on by the jocks? Maybe we should separate the girls and the boys so the good looking girls don’t have to worry about getting harassed? Everyone gets teased at some point. I think the correct response is teaching children tolerance and having strict consequences for bullies.

At some point I must have asked, “Do you really think those kids would be better off with their crackhead abusive parents than with a loving gay couple?” I can’t claim I remember their response because there’s no argument I’ll buy. It would be great if the kids could stay with their parents. If their parents hadn’t done whatever they did and continue doing that made them lose their children in the first place. If all the parents that walked that courtroom were able to get past their hurdles and become good parents. That would be awesome. But that’s not the reality. The reality is so bleak I couldn’t bare to look it in the face. I had to hide behind my computer monitor.

I know people make the argument that a gay couple would teach their child to be gay. Which is ridiculous and please just direct people to my post about the hair color and being born that way. The quickest argument of course is that it takes a straight couple to give birth to an LGBT person.

But I also like to argue practicality. For anyone who doesn’t really care about gay rights one way or the other then I offer the cash argument. A child adopted by a loving gay couple will not be collecting government assistance. A child in the foster system receives money from the government until he/she ages out at 18 years. That could be well over a decade. Allowing gay couples to adopt means more children getting adopted and less children being in foster homes. Foster homes by the way are in part funded by taxpayer money. Less children in foster homes means more taxpayer dollars going somewhere else. It’s a win win situation.

Here. An article about the musical that was made from The Kid, by Dan Savage: A Gay Adoption Becomes a Musical

Leave a Reply

