NaNoWriMo – Day 9

I have fallen very behind. We’re on Day 9 and I’ve only written up to Day 5. In my defense I got a little sick for a few days. Then work. Girl Scout meetings. I could have done a bit better, but I’d still probably be behind at least a couple of days.

I ran into a snag on Day 4 where I was getting kind of bored with my story. so I sighed, grit my teeth, and brought in the ninjas. In other words, I started the action. I wrote in foreshadowing clues. My main character had a paranormal experience that he could be easily brushed off, and yet… ? He wonders at the same time as he feels silly for wondering. I kept my story going and found something interesting to write about given my scenario.

On a high note, my characters are people. I know all about them.  Sometimes my characters don’t fully develop throughout NaNoWriMo, but this year I could write their life histories if I wanted.  I could read my draft in each characters voice.

On a last note, as some people on my Facebook know, I’m creeping myself out writing this story. Seriously. I’ll be sitting at my desk and as I’m writing check to make sure no one is behind me. It’s like I expect Paranormal Activity to start happening in my apartment just because I’m writing a scary story.  I suppose I can empathize with my main character.

Leave a Reply

