The Old and New Testament of Doctor Who

I’ll talk about my adventures beating NaNoWriMo next time. For now let me talk about what happened on the way to the last write-in. I was in the car with my daughter who was confused about the point of Hanukkah. I tried to explain that it’s a Jewish holiday, but to be honest, I don’t really know much about it beyond what I see in Party City. I don’t know the origin story, so I didn’t feel comfortable explaining it. But this led to a conversation trying to explain how the history of Judaism and Christianity are interconnected. This I know a bit more about, but she wasn’t understanding my explanation.

So here goes my explanation using Doctor Who and how she finally got what I was trying to say.  And honestly, I realize that when I try to explain religious beliefs to my daughter everything I say sounds insane. I’d sound no saner if I was reading Lord of the Rings as if it was the Old Testament.

Me: Ok, um, uh, well… Ok. Take Doctor Who. You know how there were all these episodes before Christopher Eccleston played the 9th Doctor in the new Doctor Who episodes, right?

Her: Yeah

Me: Ok. So let’s say people grew up watching Doctor’s 1-8 and were fans. So did Christopher Eccleston cause he would be of the age that saw the old Doctor Who episodes, right? So then Doctor Who fans meet and really like Christopher so much they make him a Doctor and think he might be the actual Doctor that the old episodes were writing about.

Her: (giggles)

Me: They start to write all new episodes of Doctor Who. So now you have a whole new bunch of people who think Christopher’s a great Doctor Who and watch the old Doctor Who episodes and the new ones with Christopher, David Tennant and Matt Smith. But other people they don’t think Christopher’s the real Doctor Who at all, so they only watch episodes from Doctor’s 1-8.

Her: Oh, I get it now!

Me: Really? That made sense?

Her: yeah.

Oversimplified, yes. But she’s got the jist of it.

The Doctor is a legend woven throughout history. (Christopher Eccleston - The Ninth Doctor)

2 responses to “The Old and New Testament of Doctor Who

  • Julio Benitez

    Love it. Hilarious. “Who” to illustrate Hanukkah.” “Who” would’ve thought it? Yeah, Christopher is not my saviour, but he was a very good doc who. It’s funny his name is “Christ-opher” Perfect!

  • vin

    LOL. I hadn’t even noticed that. Too Perfect. 🙂

    Wait! The other Doctors are David and Matt (short for Matthew)… holy crap!

Leave a Reply

