You’re Not Doing It Right

I just finished You’re Not Doing it Right by Michael Ian Black an actor I first saw on The State.  I decided to give it a shot since it made me laugh straight out on the first page. That seemed promising, and of course, since I finished the book having read it straight through in four days, I obviously enjoyed it.

It’s not really very funny. I mean, I laughed, it had funny parts like laughing at sarcastic guy in a movie, but it’s not a humor book. It’s a harsh look at family life. Namely, his family life, but I have to think there are other families who are functioning in similar ways even if they don’t want to admit it.

The easiest part to relate to was his frustration with having to care for a baby. It is. I’m not nor have I ever been a kid person. I talk to kids like they are grown ups and don’t coddle them. I’ll go as far as keeping my language PG rated, but that’s about it. I have never cooed at a baby even if I may have smiled at them.  It’s easier with my own kid cause I know her very well. She’s cool. We hang out.

I was able to sleep through the night when my daughter was a baby because she just slept in the bed next to me. If she woke up, I whipped out a boob for her to feed and I’d go back to sleep while she had her fill. Problem freakin’ solved. She would cry if I put her down anywhere so I strapped her to my chest with one of those baby carriers while I cleaned. Inconvenient, but better than listening to her cry.

In the book he also mentions how much of an asshole he was to his wife while she was pregnant. Oh, I know all about that. I got help and sympathy from everyone I knew except for the man who’d knocked me up. He was a complete asshole to me.

But while Michael moved past that and continued with the rest of the book and his marital troubles, I could not relate to it. I only know how to do this by myself. Even when I had friends around who could help me open a door while I pushed a stroller through I was still trying to do both myself. I was use to it. I didn’t realize, and sometimes still forget, that I have people who are willing to help me.

I’m not sure what Michael thinks he wasn’t doing right. I’d say it sounds like everything. What I take away from this book is: I wouldn’t want a marriage like that.  If they’re happy at the end of the day (metaphorically speaking) then god speed Michael Ian Black and family. But I couldn’t live like that.

 

Leave a Reply

