Buying Books for my Collection

In order to limit the amount of books I own in consideration to the limited amount of space I have, I read a lot of books through the library.  Then, if I like said book enough that one day I think “I’d like to re-read that… right now” that’s a good indication that I should buy that book.  So here are my rules before making a purchase:

1. If I’m going to buy the book, I want a good hardcover copy that will last me a few years.  Paperback is acceptable for Graphic Novels and books that were never published as hardcovers.

2. First edition is nice, but cheap used books from my local used book store is even nicer.  For the classics those Barnes and Noble collections are a really nice alternative to knowing I don’t have thousands of dollars to spend on a first edition Picture of Dorian Gray. My imaginary rich husband can buy that for me for my birthday.

3. Special Editions are  nice but unnecessary.  More important to me is unabridged.

Now, having said all that, I’m having a dilemma.  I really hate the cover of the 1st edition hardcover of Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh.  I can’t find another alternative. Irvine Welsh is going to be at the Miami Book Fair this weekend, and even though I’m not sure he would even sign a copy of an older work, I have nothing to give him anyway.  A beat up old paperback would be nice, if it was my copy I’d read many times, but I read the library copy.  The Estonian cover is nice, if I could read Estonian.

There’s not much else I can do right now, but wait for a cover I might like better.  I tried the UK Amazon site too, but it’s the same cover.

 

One response to “Buying Books for my Collection

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    I tend to read most of my books through the library, too. Space is limited in my apartment, and with very few books I’ll ever be apt to reread, there’s not much cause to fill it without compelling need.

    I’ve only ever had one book whose cover bugged me enough that I almost didn’t buy it: The Princess Bride. I bought a copy with a beautiful cover in Japan, but left it when I moved back to the States. When I went to replace that a couple years back, the only cover was a movie cover. I bought it, but I’m definitely going to replace it in the near future.

Leave a Reply

