Godzilla vs the Guardians

Headcount. Five. There are five Guardians of the Galaxy.

Headcount. Five. There are five Guardians of the Galaxy.

I had a bit of a disappointing day.  My daughter’s 12th birthday is in about a week and we were at Party City today looking for birthday stuff.  We’re having a small pizza and cake thing at home, but I thought it’d be nice to have a theme on the paper plates and cups.

So we get to the store and as we’re walking she finds a display for Godzilla. She’s really excited at finding a different theme from the standard Party City stuff, and we start filling the basket with it.  But before we get to the register she finds the Guardians of the Galaxy display.  She gasps, and runs right for it.

As we’re replacing Godzilla for Guardians we notice that Gamora is missing from everything except the large napkins.  She’s not on the plates (2 sizes), napkins (2 sizes), invitations, plastic cups, tablecloth and balloons. She stops and stares and then very calmly asks “is it because she’s a girl?” I said I didn’t know. And I don’t know, though it does seem like the only explanation.  Why is Gamora missing? She had more screen time than just about every character in the movie but Quill.

The thing is, I always noticed that Black Widow was missing from most of the Avengers merchandise. My daughter’s favorite is Hawkeye, and since he’s usually the one missing too, I’ve never really had my hackles rise. Black Widow and Hawkeye just don’t have the fancy powers or gadgets like the others do.

So my daughter very calmly put all the Guardians party supplies back in the display. I asked her if she was sure, and she said yeah, she didn’t want it anymore. I was so angry for her. And sad too. She’d been so happy when she saw the display.

I’m not blaming Party City.  They are not the ones who make the birthday theme supplies because the same stuff is sold in lots of different party stores.  But this really sucks. Why is Gamora missing from everything? Is it because she’s a girl? Well, this girl is having a Godzilla birthday party.

How I felt when my daughter sadly put back the Guardians of the Galaxy party supplies

How I felt when my daughter sadly put back the Guardians of the Galaxy party supplies

 

One response to “Godzilla vs the Guardians

Leave a Reply

