Funko Flunko

Felicia Day has had a rough few days, and now the poor girl can’t even stand up for herself.

Charlie Bradbury (played by Felicia Day) from Supernatural next to Castiel.

Charlie Bradbury (played by Felicia Day) from Supernatural next to Castiel.

I bought this Funko toy from Hot Topic a couple of weeks ago for about $12.50.  I noticed when the Buffy series of these came out that the girl characters had tiny bodies with large heads.  The male characters have proportional bodies.  This means that the female characters cannot stand up on their own and come with a plastic stand that sticks into a hole in their foot.

This has bothered me because I don’t like action figures that cannot stand on their own.  Technically, the toy can, but not for very long. The slightest thing makes them topple over.

Yesterday I came home and found Charlie leaning over like Michael Jackson in the Smooth Criminal video.

photo(2)

Annie, are you okay?

I pretty much knew I was screwed.  I tried to bend her back to get her to stand straight again, but it really wasn’t working.  So last night I turned her head backwards and left her standing like that hoping that the problem would be counter-acted.

The power of Christ compels you!

The power of Christ compels you!

I came back today and she was as bad as you see here above.  So I tried to force the issue which left poor Charlie decapitated.

dramatization

So now I broke my Charlie toy. This sucks.  I don’t know why they would make them with such tiny little bodies. But this means that I’m not buying anymore of the girl figurines because that is their primary design.  They have a few that aren’t like that like Gamora, Black Widow and Wonder Woman off the top of my head.

But saying I’m not buying most female characters makes me feel like I should not be supporting Funko at all.  Because if I only buy male characters then their stats are going to be skewed.  I don’t want them to think males sell that much more, it’s just their poor character design. So maybe I should only buy female characters with the right body design, cause man do I love those Funko dolls.

So, I’ve decided on buying the Supernatural ones because I’m king of building a collection here. The next character made would theoretically be Crowley. I’ll also get my daughter Winston from Ghostbusters.  He comes with Ecto 1.

The only other solution is to buy the girls and never take them out of the box. But that is just as unfair and kind of representative of the same problem as well as a metaphor for a larger problem.

I'll have to glue the head back on later, but my poor little girl will never be the same.

I’ll have to glue the head back on later, but my poor little girl will never be the same.

One response to “Funko Flunko

Leave a Reply

