Portland II – My week as a Tourist

Since I was in Portland for work, not play, there were a very limited number of places I could go due to time. I was only there five days. So here’s a list that you could collectively go through in a short amount of time.

Places: Lloyd Center, McMenamin’s, OMSI, Namaste, Floating World Comics,  Old Town Pizza, Powell’s Book Store, Voodoo Doughnuts, Huber’s Cafe, Home Plate Sliders

Lloyd Center – It’s a mall with normal mall things. Perfect for those “I forgot to pack an extra pair of socks” moments. It also has indoor ice skating which I’ve never actually seen since I’m from Florida. There’s a Made in Oregon gift shop you might want to visit for gifts back to the family. A myriad of items at reasonable prices.

Insdoor ice skating ring at mall

Insdoor ice skating ring at mall

McMenamin’s (Broadway) – They have various locations with various features, but I went to this close to me 2nd floor restaurant and pub.  Great Happy Hour Special. I had the Hammerhead because the menu said it was the most popular. I generally lean towards wheat beers, especially from Germany.  I liked the Hammerhead.

This place started filling up quickly. We had gotten there a bit early for Happy Hour.

This place started filling up quickly. We had gotten there a bit early for Happy Hour.

Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (OMSI) – I ripped through these exhibits very quickly. I could have taken more time, but I was with a few people and I didn’t want to slow them down. It was okay. I didn’t get to do the submarine part though. I really liked the gift shop options, but I hate how overpriced t-shirts always seem to be.

Second floor globe

Second floor globe

Namaste Indian Cuisine (Weir St) – Indian buffet food. Oh, yes. This was freaking delicious and I am still craving more. Very great price for such variety. If I ever go back to Portland, this is where I’m going. The place doesn’t look too fancy, but that’s a plus in my book honestly.

Floating World Comics – Portland seems to be very supportive of local artists. There’s a lot of zines and local art here with the more traditional mainstream comics.  There’s supposed to be a vinyl area that I found severely lacking. Mostly reprints of old albums.

Old Town Pizza (Downtown) – This place is supposed to be haunted which is why I went. I loved the atmosphere with the haphazard tables and the mismatched furniture. Price was good when you consider how much pizza they were giving you. If I lived there it would probably be one of my hot spots.

If they had coffee and free wifi they would never get rid of me.

If they had coffee and free wifi they would never get rid of me.

Powell’s Book Store – I heard this was an incredibly huge bookstore, and it sure is. At first I was a bit lost and frustrated, but after 30 minutes of not asking for help I finally found the Science Fiction series area where they had the old Star Trek paperbacks and the like. It was hard narrowing down my selection. Then I wandered over to Metaphysical, but got waylaid in Demonology and had to leave because I would have bought the entire shelf. I bought way too many books as it is and had to use Tetris skills to close my suitcase.

I found the Star Trek section

I found the Star Trek section

Voodoo Doughnut (Downtown) – I don’t necessarily get the name or like their slogans, but I can’t argue they got some seriously good doughnuts at some amazing prices. If I’d known from the get go I would have been there every afternoon trying out more flavors. I had the Grape Ape and the Diablos Rex (because it had a pentagram on it). If I ever go back I want to try the Miami Vice.

My friend ordered the signature jelly filled voodoo doll doughnut.

My friend ordered the signature jelly filled voodoo doll doughnut.

Huber’s Cafe – I found a pamphlet that said this was the oldest restaurant there and so we headed out. I almost walked back out because it looked so fancy. We managed to get a table despite not having a reservation but I was uncomfortable the whole time because I felt under dressed. Wait staff was super nice though, it’s just my own insecurity. I had some spicy meat on a stick and a fruity cocktail that doesn’t appear on their online menu.  It was good.

Home Plate Sliders (food truck) – I thought I was ordering a pastrami and cheese sandwich, turns out it was a burger topped with pastrami and cheese. I was too hungry to complain when I got it and since I don’t eat cheeseburgers I didn’t know what to do. So I ate it without any extra toppings or sauces and it was so good it rocked my world view and made me reconsider my stance on cheeseburgers.

A burger epiphany

A burger epiphany

I know it’s food heavy post, and I’m not a foodie. But I did have to eat and I was there for five days so yeah, my tour of Portland is food heavy.

Leave a Reply

